International Alumni Spotlight: Nihal Sherif

img_8061 (1).jpg

Student – International Summer Session 2015

“I recently graduated from the American University in Cairo, majoring Psychology and double minoring in Rhetorical Writing and Composition as well as Sociology.

Throughout my undergraduate studies, I wanted to study Psychology in another country other than mine because I wanted to see how the cultural context comes into play when studying the same field abroad. I chose UCI because as soon as I saw the brochure, I couldn’t stop thinking how amazing it would be to be studying something I am really passionate about while exploring the beautiful beaches of Orange County. In fact, that is exactly what happened, and there was more awaiting me in Irvine that was about to be life-changing.

I chose two courses: “Psychology of Music” and “Film and Media.” I really enjoyed both courses. My Psychology course, taught by both a psychology professor and music enthusiast, brought his guitar to class to make us understand more about rhythm, tempo, etc… especially to those who never studied music. The course combined two of my favorite things and was taught in an interesting and fun manner. The Film and Media course combined both my interest in Horror movies and increased my knowledge about the history of the US in relation to race, gender and sexuality. I loved it so much that as soon as I was back in Egypt, I started taking photography courses to make my own short movies later and became obsessed with noticing ideas behind the cinematography of movies across the ages.

The most beautiful memories of California were getting to know people from different parts of the world and breaking cultural barriers. I met people from Italy, Lebanon, Germany, UK, Saudi Arabia, China, and Taiwan. We became such good friends that we started cooking for each other (and I discovered my love for Italian pasta). We discovered how similar we are despite our cultural differences. The best part is that we got to tour around California with a rented car and go on planned UCI trips to San Francisco, San Diego, Vegas, LA, or spend a quiet relaxing afternoon in Laguna Beach, a true heaven. I still keep in touch with my friends, and every time I remember days in California, I smile to myself.”